Sunday 18th June 6.45pm & 8.45pm

St Michael & All Angels’ Church, Lower Machen

Martin Feinstein – solo flute/recorder/director
Mark Baigent – solo oboe
David Blackadder – solo trumpet
Catherine Manson – solo violin/piccolo violin
Robin Bigwood – solo harpsichord

Bach – The complete Brandenburg Concertos Nos 1-6

The Feinstein Ensemble made an eagerly-anticipated return to Lower Machen with a rare performance of all of Bach’s Brandenburg concertos performed all in one evening. The six Brandenburg Concertos represent the high point of Bach’s secular writing. Collected as a set in 1721, they actually resonate backwards and forwards throughout Bach’s entire timeline. The Brandenburgs look back to the instrumentations of an earlier age, with his use of recorders and gambas but also break completely new ground with extraordinary new configurations and a revolutionary new concept: the virtuoso keyboard concerto. One of the most popular works from the Baroque period, each of the concertos feature a different line up of instrumentalists and each captures a particular mood or style full of dancing rhythms and vitality.

Specialising in the historically accurate performance of music from the 18th century, the Feinstein Ensemble’s concerts and recordings of the Baroque repertoire have been acclaimed internationally.